Flash for portraits....

Discussion in 'Photography Beginners' Forum' started by misstwinklytoes, Jul 27, 2010.

1. misstwinklytoes

misstwinklytoes TPF Noob!

Can others edit my Photos:
    Photos OK to edit
    What is the best flash to get for portraits? I know this is a broad question, but I'm really unsure how to narrow it down. Is there a broad use flash? Something I could use indoors or out?

I'm looking for the cheapest possible option because I'm just starting out. Is there a way to make my camera's flash not so harsh?

2. arios23

arios23 TPF Noob!

Photos OK to edit
    It all depends of what you are looking for, there is no an specific formula for photography, remember that photography is not rocket science it is art, the best way you can get what you want it is trial and error.

3. Rosshole

Rosshole TPF Noob!

Photos OK to edit
    many people use a combo of a couple of manual speedlights and umbrellas to achieve decent portrait lighting...

The strobist blog has a lot of info for you on this subject too.

4. Geaux

Geaux No longer a newbie, moving up!

Photos OK to edit
    I have a d3000, just did some portrait shoots and used the on camera flash as fill flash only, along with natural lighting and I think the on camera flash did its job well. If you want to see what I'm talking about, look at my profile and check my most recent threads, that should show you how the fill flash worked with on camera flash.

5. Bryce

Bryce TPF Noob!

Photos OK to edit
    I was investigating this question for myself for the past 2 weeks. I found this flash adapter called the Orbis and it atleast sounds cool. I am looking at getting one for myself. You should check it out and see what you think. Here is some information that I got on it please check it out and tell me what you think because I think this thing looks pretty cool.
    strobist modular ring flash; shadowless photo lighting for flash/strobes - the orbis? by enlight photo