Flash question

ChAoS84

TPF Noob!
Reaction score
Can others edit my Photos
Photos OK to edit
Hello all. I'm fairly new to the world of photography, but I'm already totally addicted to my D90. I do have a couple of questions about flashes, hence my post.. Does anyone know of a good beginners guide <for lack of a better name> for flashes? It seems like there's so much out there, I'm spinning my head trying to figure out what they all do. Also, what good brands are out there that won't break the bank?

Thanks in advance.

Hello all. I'm fairly new to the world of photography, but I'm already totally addicted to my D90. I do have a couple of questions about flashes, hence my post.. Does anyone know of a good beginners guide <for lack of a better name> for flashes? It seems like there's so much out there, I'm spinning my head trying to figure out what they all do. Also, what good brands are out there that won't break the bank?

Thanks in advance.

This is like "What camera should I buy".

What do you want to do and what do you want spend? You could get one Nikon speedlight for $200 and put it on your camera and call it a day. You could also purchase a Profoto pack and head system for about $10,000.

This is fun, and cheaper. Start with the following link and get back to us. Keep in mind that the following was written over three years ago. Prices and options are definitely much better.
Strobist: Lighting 101

Strobist: Lighting 101[/URL]

Oops, kinda left that part out.. $200 is my ballpark. Little over wouldn't hurt. I'm looking to do some portraiture. The sight of the built-in flash makes me cringe for some reason. Again, not looking for proffesional-grade over-complicated equipment, just something to get me headed in the right direction.

And thanks for the link, I'll read that over.

Edit: That link is exactly the kind of thing I was looking for.

To get professional looking results pretty much takes professional techniques and gear.

Strobist: Lighting 101[/URL]