flashes and lenses

Discussion in 'Photography Equipment & Products' started by iain, May 26, 2003.

  1. iain

    iain TPF Noob!

    Joined:
    May 26, 2003
    Messages:
    10
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Australia
    I have a Canon FT QL, and I need a flash for it. It doesn't have a hot seat connection. Any ideas? I also don't have much money so an older model flash would be good.

    Also, can you use Canon FD lenses (for the Canon FTb SLR) on the Canon FT SLR?
     
  2. dlc

    dlc TPF Noob!

    Joined:
    May 14, 2003
    Messages:
    293
    Likes Received:
    2
    Location:
    Indianapolis IN
    There are several manual flashes available for your camera including new ones, but you will need a PC cord for attachment since you don't have a hot shoe. Vivitar and Sunpak to name a couple. www.keh.com may have some Canon flashes used if you want Canon.
     
  3. iain

    iain TPF Noob!

    Joined:
    May 26, 2003
    Messages:
    10
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Australia
    good o, thanx :) what about the lenses tho?
     
  4. dlc

    dlc TPF Noob!

    Joined:
    May 14, 2003
    Messages:
    293
    Likes Received:
    2
    Location:
    Indianapolis IN
    KEH has Canon FD lenses too. They are a reliable retailer for used gear, but don't buy anything less than an "Excellent" rating. Your camera takes lenses only with the FD mount.
     
  5. iain

    iain TPF Noob!

    Joined:
    May 26, 2003
    Messages:
    10
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Australia
    actually, I suspect my camera only takes lenses with the FL mount, as it's only an FT not an FTb. Am I wrong? Are they backwards compatible?
     
  6. dlc

    dlc TPF Noob!

    Joined:
    May 14, 2003
    Messages:
    293
    Likes Received:
    2
    Location:
    Indianapolis IN
    You are right. Only FL lenses for your FT. Your lenses are not interchangable. www.google.com and type in your camera. The info is there.
     
  7. iain

    iain TPF Noob!

    Joined:
    May 26, 2003
    Messages:
    10
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Australia
    what is it exactly that makes the lenses incompatible? I know the FT hasn't got the automatic metering, but are the lenses physically the same?
     

Share This Page