focus question

gsd

TPF Noob!
Reaction score
Can others edit my Photos
Photos OK to edit
I need help with this picture. I wanted both people in focus. I have a canon rebel xti with a 18-55 lens, olympus f-40 external flash. What did I do wrong?
IMG_6759-1.jpg
[/IMG]

image didnt work, from looking at your post I would guess you wanted this image?
IMG_6759-1.jpg

with the XTI you can change your focal points.

You could also change your Aperture for less depth of Field

What were your camera settings?

Edit- I looked at the Exif data, Instead of F 5.0 bump that up a bit, this also probably would have let you lower the ISO from 800.

I am a noob so still wait for some one elses answer as I could be completely incorrect.

yes thank you. How did you do that?

I am not sure where my camera settings were. Is there a way to find out?

You have ZoomBrowser software that came with your XTI?
I used that to see the EXIF data (camera settings) and also saw your Auto Focus points.

I think its the Aperture you needed to raise on this.

adding image, click the
insertimage.gif

Button
then Paste you image code into the popup window and click OK

Hi GSD,
Once you take the photo, you should have an info/display button on your camera, do you see it? Click that and it should show you the data from the photo you just took..like F stop, speed, ISO etc...

Thank you dslrchat, to raise the aperture does the number go down or up. I keep forgetting.

Small depth of field in this one prevents you from having both in focus. Instead of f/5 go to a smaller aperture, like f/8 or beyond.