Focusing Issues in Sports Photography

Acoosticant

TPF Noob!
Reaction score
Can others edit my Photos
Photos OK to edit
Hello all, I'm a very new photographer and am having an issue I'm hoping I can get help with from someone with experience.

I like shooting sports. I like playing sports even more, but I tore my ACL a couple of months ago and will be out for about a year (hence me finding a new hobby in photography--it's the next best thing).

I shoot more football than anything. I have a Canon 5D Mark II and I usually use the 100mm-400mm zoom lens. I'm not even close to being able to manual focus quick enough for football so I use the "AF Servo" option.

The problem I am having is that there are so many players running around on the football field (and in front of the camera) that my lens often focuses on the wrong subject.

For example, I may be trying to capture a player running with the ball on the far side of the field, but if there is a player in the foreground, between me and my intended subject, the camera often focuses that in the shot.

Also, things are happening so quickly in football, and I'm having to quickly pan my camera from the quarterback to a receiver, that the lens doesn't pick up focus quick enough and I get a semi-sharp image.

I don't have any examples at work with me (except what I have on flickr--but those are the ones I thought were good) but I can post some when I get home if they are needed.

I know this is a lot for my first post--any help is greatly appreciated.

Thanks in advance!

That's why sports photographers use Canon 1D mkIII's since (from what I heard) they focus really fast. 5D mk.II is more of a studio camera, but with enough practice you can shoot sports too. Also play around with the other focus points, or set one focus point instead of using full auto focus (using all focus point (the little dots you see in the viewfinder)).