Football shots

Rpg

TPF Noob!
Reaction score
Can others edit my Photos
Photos OK to edit
I'm brand new at photography and I am using a Pentax 10K under stadium lights. I am using a Pentax 50-135mm f2.8 and a Pentax 77mm f1.9 lens.
I am shooting it on all green which I think means everything is automatic.
I tend to get a lot of blur shots. Is this the best way to run the camera for what I'm doing? I can't find any bigger lenses to get closer, but the shots I'm getting seem to be pretty close. I just do not know why some of them are blurry, and some not. I.E. The quarterback looks good, but his throwing arm is blurry. Any ideas? Thanks, Randall

Welcome to the forum.

Blurriness is caused by movement, either of the camera or the subject. The way to combat blurriness is with fast shutter speeds. The faster the shutter speed, the less blur you will have.

Now, it isn't as simple as setting a faster shutter speed because you need to have enough light get into the camera to make your exposure...and if you make the shutter speed faster, less light gets in.

Your exposure is controlled by three things. The shutter speed, the aperture of the lens and the ISO setting. They all work together to get enough light into the camera.

The problem is that the lights on the football field, are really not that bright. Your camera, in auto, will most likely have set the largest aperture already (lower F number). So your aperture is already maxed out. Then it, uses a shutter speed that is fast enough to get the exposure...but with that lighting, the shutter speed just isn't fast enough to freeze motion. How fast does it have to be? That depends, you will learn that from experience. I'd suggest that 1/125 would be a minimum and even faster is better.