For all the entrepreneurs out there. Need some advice.

imchristinak

TPF Noob!
Reaction score
Can others edit my Photos
Photos OK to edit
I am wondering what steps you had to take to get where you are at now.
Did you guys major in art or photography? Is it helpful or unnecessary? Did you jump right into opening your business? Was it just a hobby turned professional?

I guess I am asking because I am currently at a financial disposition and since I am new to the field and don't have a professional camera (just a normal p&s), I am wondering if I should just stick with a job first to afford a decent camera first and then decide what to do next from there or if I should somehow find a way into affording photography programs or courses and using the good ol' credit card to just invest in the equipment now.

yes, I am being quite vulnerable (well at least my standard of it) and am looking forward to some advice. Thanks all.

Buying camera equipment on credit is not a very good idea, be it for hobby use or business use.

If you aspire to work for someone else: get a degree in the arts (including photography) with a business minor. It should only cost you $40,000 or so at a good arts school.

If you want to be an independent business person: get a degree in business and minor in photography.

Be advised the photography business is changing rapidly because of the digital SLR explosion, the still ongoing consolidation of the stock photography business, photography sharing web sites, and some other factors.

The majority of retail photographers today do not earn a living wage (below the poverty line) and are forced to suppliment their income with a second job or the income a spouse provides, if they are able to stay in business at all.

The commercial photography field is certainly being killed by the major stock photography outlets.