For people in DC (Advice on Shooting the Inauguration)

Tykell

TPF Noob!
Reaction score
Can others edit my Photos
Photos NOT OK to edit
Hey guys,

I'm a beginner photographer that's giving himself a tough assignment for January 09, shooting the inauguration as best I can without any kind of media or press credentials, in other words just as a bystander. I have a few general questions to people who are familiar with these kinds of public political events so I can prepare myself.

Do you imagine there are restrictions on the kind of equipment people can bring to the premises of the Inauguration? I am used to shooting in controlled environments where I am limited by what lenses I can utilize due to a lack of media credentials, I.E I cannot use anything over 75mm. This is mainly sporting events. My initial approach to this was probably not, since this is a public event that is open to anyone and the only thing media credentials gives you is the opportunity to get a great shooting spot, rather than the license to use lucrative equipment.

I was hoping to drag a 300mm 2.8 to the event, but I'm questioning whether it is practical to do such a thing. Millions of people are going to be showing up for this, so I have to wonder if I would even have any room to set a lens like this up with even a monopod (hand holding would be out of the question I imagine with such a heavy lens). I'm thinking a 70-200 2.8 IS might be wiser so I can handhold and give myself more flexibility. But then I have to wonder if that kind of range is going to do me justice at all, I have my suspicions 300mm may not even do anything if I'm out far enough. I may just drag both lenses since I'll have an assistant there helping out and hope for the best.