? for Rebel XTi users with remote shutter release...

Discussion in 'Photography Beginners' Forum' started by alabama1980, Mar 15, 2008.

  1. alabama1980
    Offline

    alabama1980 New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 27, 2008
    Messages:
    68
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Gallery:
    Ratings:
    +0 / 0
    My Photos Are OK to Edit
    I just got a remote release for my XTi. I know that you have to change the shooting mode to the 10 sec. delay/remote setting for it to work, but is there a way to use the remote release without waiting ten seconds??

    Canon Remote Switch RS60 E3 is the one i have....


    That just seems kinda cheesy if ya cant...


    A
  2. Chris of Arabia
    Offline

    Chris of Arabia Herding cats since 1988...

    Joined:
    Mar 10, 2007
    Messages:
    7,825
    Likes Received:
    12
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    The Magic Kingdom
    Gallery:
    Ratings:
    +12 / 0
    My Photos Are OK to Edit
    No idea where you've got that notion from. I've got a 350D and have no problem taking shots using the same release on the single or multi-shot mode. No reason at all why you'd have to set it on the 10 sec delay to make it function.
  3. BYoung
    Offline

    BYoung New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 4, 2008
    Messages:
    163
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Northwest Territories, Canada
    Gallery:
    Ratings:
    +0 / 0
    My Photos Are OK to Edit
    I made my own release for my XTi. I don't know where you read the 10sec thing but thats untrue, unless it has something to do with that specific remote. When it's plugged in it should work just like the normal shutter button just on a cord. You just do everything as you normally would without it.
  4. Sim
    Offline

    Sim New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 3, 2008
    Messages:
    220
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Toronto
    Gallery:
    Ratings:
    +0 / 0
    My Photos Are OK to Edit
    Chris is right. I own an XTi along with a RC-1 remote and setting the camera to the "Self-timer/remote control" mode lets me take pictures immediately by pressing the remote's button.

    The camera will take a picture in 10 seconds if you push the shutter button on the camera body though...
  5. BYoung
    Offline

    BYoung New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 4, 2008
    Messages:
    163
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Northwest Territories, Canada
    Gallery:
    Ratings:
    +0 / 0
    My Photos Are OK to Edit
    I read Sim's post wrong. Anyway the rest of the info may be useful for you.

    Just tested my camera again. My remote works in any shooting mode just like the normal shutter release does. In timer / remote mode it does wait 10sec to take a picture with remote or real shutter button which is useless with the remote. Also works 100% fine with mirror lockup.
  6. frXnz kafka
    Offline

    frXnz kafka New Member

    Joined:
    Jul 9, 2007
    Messages:
    517
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Maine
    Gallery:
    Ratings:
    +0 / 0
    I also made my own remote, and it works just like yours. I would imagine any remote (wire remote, at least) would function roughly the same. The remote just taps into the on-camera shutter release circuit, so there's no reason it wouldn't function just as the on-camera shutter release does.

    To Sim: Your remote is wireless, which may function differently from the wired remotes, because it uses the infrared sensor rather than simply tapping into the shutter circuit.
  7. Big Mike
    Offline

    Big Mike I am Big, I am Mike Staff Member

    Joined:
    Dec 16, 2003
    Messages:
    33,547
    Likes Received:
    1,738
    Trophy Points:
    113
    Location:
    Edmonton
    Gallery:
    Ratings:
    +1,748 / 0
    My Photos Are NOT OK to Edit
    Everyone is correct, you can use the remote in any mode, just like the button on the camera.

    If you are using the self timer mode, you don't even need the remote. The idea being that you aren't touching the camera when it fires.
  8. Chris of Arabia
    Offline

    Chris of Arabia Herding cats since 1988...

    Joined:
    Mar 10, 2007
    Messages:
    7,825
    Likes Received:
    12
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    The Magic Kingdom
    Gallery:
    Ratings:
    +12 / 0
    My Photos Are OK to Edit
    ...and Lo, Mike spake up unto the masses and they did see that it was good. Thus it came to pass that all did buy the RS60-E3 and did forsake the shutter button from that day forth... :hail:
  9. Sim
    Offline

    Sim New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 3, 2008
    Messages:
    220
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Toronto
    Gallery:
    Ratings:
    +0 / 0
    My Photos Are OK to Edit
    You're right. I mistakenly assumed the remote alabama1980 was talking about was wireless. Oops. :)
  10. alabama1980
    Offline

    alabama1980 New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 27, 2008
    Messages:
    68
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Gallery:
    Ratings:
    +0 / 0
    My Photos Are OK to Edit
    wow....apparently im nuts...

    I swear I plugged it in when i first got it and it would fire the shutter except in the 10 sec mode.....just tried it again, and it works in any mode....

    I was thinking the same thing as posted above....it would be pointless to even use if i could only use it with a 10 sec delay....lol.

    anywho, problem solved, thank yall!

    A

Share This Page

Search tags for this page
canon rebel xt remote
,
canon rebel xti adjust remote shutter release timing
,

canon rebel xti ir mode

,
canon rebel xti remote mode
,
canon xti take multiple shots with a remote shutter
,

delayed remote on rebel xt

,

how do i put my rebel xti in infrared mode

,
how do i set my canon rebel t3 to infrared shooting mode
,
how do you set the timer for a canon rebel xti
,
how to select time release mode on cannon xti
,
how to set a canon xt for infared shooting
,
how to set canon rebel to infrared flash
,

how to set canon rebel xt for remote shutter release

,
how to turn on ir mode on rebel xt
,
rebel xt infrared shooting mode
,
set rebel xti to ir mode
,

set up remote shutter canon rebel xt

,
setting rebel xti to ir mode
,

timed shutter rebel xti

,
xti remote shutter