??? for the next time & salvaging these...

kundalini

Been spending a lot of time on here!
Reaction score
Can others edit my Photos
Photos NOT OK to edit
I've decided to make this old barn my "subject" for a while. She never complains, always shows up when I'm ready and the sitting fee is reasonable. This is my first attempt in low light, sunset was at 7:58. A storm blew thru a little earlier, had just stopped raining.

With time, practice and patience I know something will come out from this old girl, but would appreciate any tips on how to get more detail on the front of the barn without losing the sky for the next time.

Secondly, I just got a copy of PS2 without any manuals (not my usual mode and will eventually get right). Can someone explain a few functions which will allow me to get the barn details without losing the sky.

1. EXIF data: Shutter Speed=10/200, Aperture=f/4.8, FL=35, Time=7:56
DSC_0007.jpg
[/IMG]

2. EXIF data: Shutter Speed=50/10, Aperture=f/14, FL=18, Time=8:15
DSC_0029.jpg
[/IMG]

Cheers....

The images aren't showing up, you need to fix your image tags.
Dug

Same comments as above, but hopefully this time the images appear. My bad.

DSC_0007.jpg

DSC_0029.jpg

It looks like you'll have to do multiexposures. One for the sky and one for the barn, then blend them. As for PS, I'd get the version with the manuals, it's worth it....

Using photoshop to "save" the pictures you will want to use the dodge and burn tools. These will allow you to lighten and darken individual areas of a photo. Using Lightroom (all I have on this computer) you would want to work with recovery and fill light, which allows you lighten darker areas of the picture.
The shadows are too underexposed to cleanly recover, but this is what happens using recovery and fill light in Lightroom.
TestPicEdit.jpg

Was this on your D80 because it has a LOT of noise. What ISO setting was it on?