Formal Education?

neea

TPF Noob!
Reaction score
Can others edit my Photos
Photos NOT OK to edit
Hey all,

Just wondering how many of you have had formal training in photography.

For those who haven't, how did you learn? Did someone take you under their wing? Did you read books and teach yourself?

Also, how long have you been taking pictures?

I'll start.
No formal training. Self taught through books, magazines, webpages, anything I can read from anywhere. And learning from you guys of course :hug::.
Looking back I've been interested in photography for a very long time.
I got my Canon Rebel for Christmas....4 years ago or so. Every year I get a little more serious about it.

Formal.

Was never really interested in photography until last year when I suggested to an exgirlfriend (who was not an ex at the time) that we take a photography class together, as she was into photography, but was at that point, self taught with no formal education.

I fell in love with the fine art side of things, and stuck with it. I've learned a lot, and have a lot yet to learn. There is so much to it, I'm glad I took the classes rather than tried to teach myself. My ex is better off having taken the classes as well. She had only scratched the surface of what was possible before taking classes.

So far, all me wandering and observing, no books or formal education yet.

Going to be taking some courses at a local college though....I need the practice/experience/knowledge of everything besides 'street', as well as the theory behind it if I can manage that, etc

I've been interested in it for a long time (15 years?). I bought my first camera (Canon S30) in 2002 and took photos wherever I could to practice. I got more serious August 2005 when I bought my Digital Rebel.

I have no formal education in it, just practice and advice from folks. I plan on taking or auditing an undergrad or grad class in it in Fall '08 when I'm just doing thesis work so I can concentrate more on it than I could now.