Freedom of chains or is it choice

Discussion in 'Photographic Discussions' started by mysteryscribe, May 27, 2007.

1. mysteryscribe

mysteryscribe TPF Noob!

Can others edit my Photos:
    Photos OK to edit
    People, If you have to try to save it by going black and white, you probably can't. Black and white is a choice not an after thought. It isn't going to cure poor exposure, poor composition, poor planning any of those things. It is a thing unto itself and worthy of respect, not a bastard step child.

2. tempra

tempra TPF Noob!

It's not always that black and white!

3. 250Gimp

250Gimp TPF Noob!

Photos OK to edit
    I agree!

I'm new to this game and shoot all colour, but sometimes I find that colour shot that I like, and feel it would look good in B&W. That is when I convert in Photoshop using different methods.

4. Sw1tchFX

Sw1tchFX TPF Noob!

Photos NOT OK to edit
    When I convert to black and white, it's so that the viewer concentrates on the texture and composition. I convert it because the color distracts and adds nothing.

5. mysteryscribe

mysteryscribe TPF Noob!

Photos OK to edit
    True but you aren't doing it trying to save a shot... You can't save a poor shot by trying to convert it. A poor shot is always going to be a poor shot.

6. skieur

skieur TPF Noob!

Photos OK to edit
    For once, I tend to agree with Mystery Scribe. Black and white is not the answer to a shot that is poor in colour due to either technique or composition. Black and white requires extraordinary excellent composition and control of tonal variations that are most often not present.

skieur

7. gmarquez

gmarquez TPF Noob!

Photos OK to edit
    Black and white and color photography are just the b@sta@rd stepchildren of HDR photography...which is just the b@sta@rd stepchild of HighRes/HDR 3D photography...which is just the b@sta@rd stepchild of full spectrum 3D HiResHDR photography... which is just the b@sta@rd stepchild of smell-o-vision.

8. Alpha