Freedom of chains or is it choice

mysteryscribe

TPF Noob!
Reaction score
Website
retrophotoservice.2ya.com
Can others edit my Photos
Photos OK to edit
People, If you have to try to save it by going black and white, you probably can't. Black and white is a choice not an after thought. It isn't going to cure poor exposure, poor composition, poor planning any of those things. It is a thing unto itself and worthy of respect, not a bastard step child.

I agree!

I'm new to this game and shoot all colour, but sometimes I find that colour shot that I like, and feel it would look good in B&W. That is when I convert in Photoshop using different methods.

When I convert to black and white, it's so that the viewer concentrates on the texture and composition. I convert it because the color distracts and adds nothing.

For once, I tend to agree with Mystery Scribe. Black and white is not the answer to a shot that is poor in colour due to either technique or composition. Black and white requires extraordinary excellent composition and control of tonal variations that are most often not present.

skieur

Black and white and color photography are just the b@sta@rd stepchildren of HDR photography...which is just the b@sta@rd stepchild of HighRes/HDR 3D photography...which is just the b@sta@rd stepchild of full spectrum 3D HiResHDR photography... which is just the b@sta@rd stepchild of smell-o-vision.

I agree with your frustration over people thinking they can "save" poorly shot color photos by converting. However, this can be pulled off well if your only problem is poor color saturation.

I disagree. I took a shot which was clearly a deleter in colour, but black and white and a bit of tone control and it came out wonderfully.