FStop Question! (I can teach some things, but I'm still learning most things)

Dubious Drewski

TPF Noob!
Reaction score
Can others edit my Photos
Photos OK to edit
Let's say you're looking at a lens, say my kit 18-55. It's a f/3.5-5.6 lens. What is the clearest, most succinct way to describe to someone what that f/n number means?

I would describe it like so:

"f3.5 to f5.6 is a measurement of how much light is reduced before it reaches your camera. When the lens is at 18mm, the fStops are 3.5, and the physical amount of light is halved 3.5 times. At full focal length, f5.6, light is halved 5.6 times. (The reduction of light is nonlinear)"

Is this accurate?

Does the f/n number ever directly relate to the physical diameter of the aperture then? It doesn't sound like it necessarily does. Is it a combination of the focal length and the aperture then? If that's the case, then how is it possible to have a zoom lens with a fixed f/n value, like those fancy 2.8 lenses?

Are fractions in some way used to calculate f-stops? I know - 'go read that Peterson's book' :lol: I'm going to remember to order it one of these days.

I remember it as "1/1.8", "1/2.0" ... "1/1.8" is a bigger hole then "1/2.0" ... so it lets in more light. But what you said about the light reduction makes more sense.

and just in case this was a matter of confusion
the f numbers listed on lenses arent fixed apertures theyre the lowest aperture the lens has
for an 18-55mm 3.5 is the lowest aperture on the 18 length and 5.6 is the lowest aperture on the 55
those fancy 2.8 lenses have their lowest aperture setting at 2.8 but thats not the only aperture
if you already knew this never mind hahah =P

The f-number is the focal length divided by the diameter of the entrance pupil. The entrance pupil is the image if the iris (aperture) as seen from the front of the lens, it is not the iris itself*.