Fujifilm finepix S9100 (question about accessories)

PolyurethaneSmile

TPF Noob!
Reaction score
Can others edit my Photos
Photos OK to edit
Okie dokie, so I'm new to photography, but I already know which camera I'm going to get. No, i didnt just pick the first cheap one i saw, i asked around, and the Fujifilm S9100 seemed to be a great beginner camera.

So this is what my friend in a different forum told me (not a photography forum, keep in mind)

musts:
1. rechargeable AA batteries, make sure you get NiMH batteries and make sure they have a high maH rating. Something like 2200 or above if possible.
2. 58mm glass UV filter: protects the lens from dust, dirt, and scratches. A lens cloth with this would also be nice, but definitely get the uv filter, it saves your lense from being destroyed.
3. xD card, make sure it's not sD. You can also get cf cards, but the write speed is slower on those. i have a 2 gig xD card, but i'll most likely never fill it up.

I'm definetely getting the UV filter and batteries and xD card.

Optional stuff:
Tripod, case, monopod, polarizing filter, shutter release cable, external flash.

A tripod would be nice, but it can wait. Case ill get because im very clumsy and tend to break things sometimes :p. Polarizing filter i heard from somebody else was a must have, but they're all pretty damn expensive and i dont have extra for that. So could i go with the UV filter and wait to get a polarizing filter? Shutter release cable- if anyone could link me to a cable that works with the s9100, i might consider getting one. But they arent a must have, right? Aaand last but not least the external flash. Heard it was good to have, but i dont need it. I just want some opinions and if anyone can answer my questions, that'll be great!

Welcome to the forum.