General advice for using Infrared - HELP! I NEED SOMEBODY! (HELP! NOT JUST ANYBODY.)

Discussion in 'Alternative Techniques & Photo Gallery' started by binglemybongle, May 23, 2005.

1. binglemybongle

binglemybongle TPF Noob!

Firstly to say im an amateur is a grossly proportioned understatement!

I have an old canon T70 that my dad gave me a couple of years ago. Ive messed around a bit. Bought a few bits and pieces because it pleased me. But now im becoming a bit more interested in various techniques.

I discovered IR on saturday, raced out of the house sunday and bought a roll of KODAK HIE and a HOYA R72 filter!

Unfortunately i havnt got a clue what to do becasue:

Ive looked on different sites and there seems to be a lot of conflicting advice on exposing the film. Is there any general rule of thumb? Or do i learn the hard (and expensive) way - going through about 5 rolls before i get it right?

Any info on which ISO, how to meter, anything will be greatly received.

Ta.

2. terri

terri Administrator Staff Member Supporting Member

Can others edit my Photos:
    Photos NOT OK to edit
    Well, welcome to TPF, bingle! Anyone who's quoting the Beatles in the title of their first thread is going to get a response by me. :mrgreen:

When I was younger....so much younger than today.... ;) I started shooting good old HIE, and the love affair still deepens. I've had success with the following method, so this is how I'm going to advise you. Hopefully others will weigh in here, too. :)

I'm not into too dense a filter with HIE. I mean, it works, but it's going to block out so much of the blue light waves you start losing detail. If that is the effect you're after, go for it. For starters, though, I think you'll do just fine with a #25 red filter. You'll get your spectacular contrast, your grain, all the things that probably drew you in. Set your ISO at around 400, maybe a tad under.