general pricing for family and senior photos

kkamin

TPF Noob!
Reaction score
Website
www.kevinkaminphoto.com
Can others edit my Photos
Photos OK to edit
I'm entering the world of freelance photographer and am unsure about some aspects of pricing. I am a classically trained photographer (BFA) and have some commercial experience under my belt and feel confident in my movement to commercial portrait photography.

Looking for some advise on the best way to charge for the following services.

1. Unique family Photos: I'm teaming up with a friend who owns a Korean dance studio where adopted Koreans attend. The portrait sessions will allow the girls and their family to take a family portrait in traditional Korean clothes. The dance teacher will be the stylist and assist in elegant, dance posing. My idea was to charge around $130 for the 1 hour session and have it include one 8x10 print. Part of the marketing is to have the family use one of the portraits for holiday cards. How do I price the release of the photo. And do I send the computer file myself to the card maker to prevent printing? Any other ideas on better ways to maximize print sales?

2. Senior Portraits at the same dance studio. 1 1/2 hour session. The girls wearing their Korean dance dress. $150 for the session, 7 set-ups and more art direction than the above service. Thinking about giving 16 wallets with the sitting fee. Expecting nice amount of print orders. How do I get the digital file to the school?

3. I will be giving clients a seven day window, once the proofs are posted online, to place their order. If they want to order prints again in the future, how much should I charge to retrieve the proofs?

Thanks, everyone in advance.