• 35mm 1.8

Votes: 4 100.0%

• Total voters

Thebigbarkhouski

TPF Noob!
Reaction score
Can others edit my Photos
Photos NOT OK to edit
First of all I'm new to photography... I just bought a Nikon D3300 and I saw a video online that said while it has 24 maga pixels if I'm using the 18-55mm lense kit that comes with it I'd only really be capturing 9 mega pixels. My question is what if I get a 35mm 1.8 lense. Will I get better mega pixels? I do plan on taking lots of landscape shots anything that catches the eye on walk abouts

Will I get better mega pixels?
I've not seen anyone else pose that question before.

Let's try to rephrase your question to make it easier to answer.

(my best guess) "Will I have better image quality using one lens over the other?"

(another guess) "Which lens will perform better in low light?"

The sensor's size and design is where the term "megapixels" comes from, and your lens of choice will not change that. Camera manufacturers are very clever, and have made a huge production of the term in order to sell more cameras than their competitors. So a camera with 24 megapixels will sell more than say, a camera with only 16 megapixels.

Now as to lenses; either of those two that you named should project their image circle onto your sensor's total of 24 megapixels. Therefore they are both good choices for getting all of your pixels into the game.

(my first question answered) Maybe.

(my second question answered) The one with the wider maximum aperture.

BTW: whichever source it was that hinted at the possibility of "losing" megapixels may not be a good choice from which to learn photography.

Just sayin'.

Thanks a lot! I think I'll use the 18-55mm for a bit before I get something else, I still have much to learn. I just want to make the right choices with equipment to start off on the right foot

I have that lens on my camera nearly all the time, even though I have three other lenses.