Getting my Sb-800 Wireless

Discussion in 'Beyond the Basics' started by bdavis, Apr 10, 2009.

  1. bdavis
    Offline

    bdavis New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 14, 2009
    Messages:
    784
    Likes Received:
    3
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Iowa
    Gallery:
    Ratings:
    +3 / 0
    My Photos Are NOT OK to Edit
    Ok here's the deal. I already know how to do this with my D90, but I had my D90 replaced and the new one I received doesn't seem to be working correctly. Here's what's going on.

    I want to have have my camera trigger the flash wirelessly, so I set my flash on remote. Then I go into my flash settings on my camera, I tell the built in flash to be a commander instead of TTL. Then I go to the next screen and tell the built in flash to be (--) which means it should be inactive. Then I tell my speedlight to be manual at say 1/4 power. I should be good to go. I open my pop up flash (without doing that it wont trigger the speedlight) and I dial in my settings. I focus, compose, then shoot and strangely enough, both flashes go off. The pop up shouldn't even go off with the (--) setting. My other D90 never had this issue but I'm thinking this one might be defective. Am I missing something?
  2. tirediron
    Online

    tirediron Watch the Birdy! Staff Member

    Joined:
    Jul 8, 2005
    Messages:
    26,266
    Likes Received:
    6,546
    Trophy Points:
    113
    Location:
    Victoria, BC
    Gallery:
    Ratings:
    +6,816 / 3
    My Photos Are OK to Edit
    I may be missing something, but if you have your built-in flash set to Commander, then it has to go off to trigger the slave. The CLS works because the slave units sense the illumination from the commander and fire accordingly. It sounds to me like it's working exactly the way it should.
  3. bdavis
    Offline

    bdavis New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 14, 2009
    Messages:
    784
    Likes Received:
    3
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Iowa
    Gallery:
    Ratings:
    +3 / 0
    My Photos Are NOT OK to Edit
    What you say makes sense, but if I recall my first D90 never triggered the pop up flash, it simply sent out a signal to trigger the SB-800
  4. JerryPH
    Offline

    JerryPH New Member

    Joined:
    Oct 14, 2007
    Messages:
    6,083
    Likes Received:
    5
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Montreal, QC, Canada
    Gallery:
    Ratings:
    +5 / 0
    My Photos Are NOT OK to Edit
    The answer is in here, I am pretty sure of it. Make sure the camera is in COMMANDER mode (if it can do this), and that the flash is up. If the camera cannot act as a commander, then the SB-800 has to be the commander.

    Also, don't be afraid to reference your camera and flash manuals.
  5. bdavis
    Offline

    bdavis New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 14, 2009
    Messages:
    784
    Likes Received:
    3
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Iowa
    Gallery:
    Ratings:
    +3 / 0
    My Photos Are NOT OK to Edit
    As I stated above, I did set the camera as a commander and the SB-800 was a remote slave. I set the camera to the mode (--) which should be off, then selected manual at 1/4 power for the SB-800. I popped the flash up so it would trigger the SB-800 and the SB-800 went off, but so did the pop-up. So basically, the pop up flash went off even when it was set at (--) which means off.
  6. Village Idiot
    Offline

    Village Idiot Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Mar 20, 2008
    Messages:
    7,007
    Likes Received:
    361
    Trophy Points:
    83
    Location:
    Shepherdsturd, WV / Almost, MD
    Gallery:
    Ratings:
    +369 / 0
    My Photos Are NOT OK to Edit
    The popup triggers the remote flash. That's how CLS works.
  7. kundalini
    Offline

    kundalini Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jul 18, 2007
    Messages:
    13,443
    Likes Received:
    1,853
    Trophy Points:
    113
    Location:
    State of Confusion
    Gallery:
    Ratings:
    +1,863 / 0
    My Photos Are NOT OK to Edit
    If your previous D90 did not fire the built in flash, then it had a fault. This is how the Commander mode works. Setting the built in flash to (--) will trigger the off camera flash but not contribute to the scene, unless you are up close and particularly at a reflective surface. All is good.
  8. bdavis
    Offline

    bdavis New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 14, 2009
    Messages:
    784
    Likes Received:
    3
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Iowa
    Gallery:
    Ratings:
    +3 / 0
    My Photos Are NOT OK to Edit
    (sigh of relief) thats good. I've been living on strobist for about 2 days now and finally getting the hang of using off camera flash. I went home last night to try a few things and noticed this and wanted to make sure everything was ok.
  9. Garbz
    Offline

    Garbz New Member

    Joined:
    Oct 26, 2003
    Messages:
    9,712
    Likes Received:
    202
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Brisbane, Australia
    Gallery:
    Ratings:
    +202 / 0
    My Photos Are NOT OK to Edit
    Send the signal by magic? CLS is an IR technology and the brightest source of IR on the camera is the flash.

    Here's a trick. Set everything in the commander to (--) and take a photo. The CLS signal is encoded with the TTL pre-flashes. The flash fires and THEN the shutter opens. That way the flash triggers the wireless slave, but doesn't affect the image.

    This is also why you can't take a photo of a cat using CLS when they are looking at the camera. The CLS flash + TTL preflashes are longer than their blink reaction so when the photo is actually taken they have their eyes closed. :lol:
  10. JerryPH
    Offline

    JerryPH New Member

    Joined:
    Oct 14, 2007
    Messages:
    6,083
    Likes Received:
    5
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Montreal, QC, Canada
    Gallery:
    Ratings:
    +5 / 0
    My Photos Are NOT OK to Edit
    Using the remote manual mode cuts down on the # of preflashes (al TTL light measurement preflashes are removed) and this may let you get your cat before it blinks... but maybe not. Some cats are fast (lol).
  11. Garbz
    Offline

    Garbz New Member

    Joined:
    Oct 26, 2003
    Messages:
    9,712
    Likes Received:
    202
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Brisbane, Australia
    Gallery:
    Ratings:
    +202 / 0
    My Photos Are NOT OK to Edit
    No maybe about it:

    Figured it out a while ago. Shot in SU-4 mode manual 1/4 power, with camera flash set to manual 1/16th with my hand blocking the flash from hitting the cat directly.
    [​IMG]
  12. In2daBlue
    Offline

    In2daBlue New Member

    Joined:
    Oct 22, 2007
    Messages:
    101
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Gallery:
    Ratings:
    +0 / 0
    My Photos Are NOT OK to Edit
    The only way to remotely fire an off camera strobe is with a PocketWizard or some equivalent. The commander mode works in IR and thus requires some form of flash from the pop-up. That is why the commander mode doesn't work when you are out of sight. If it was truly remote, as a PW is, then it wouldn't matter.

    Cool shot of the cat, BTW.
  13. Garbz
    Offline

    Garbz New Member

    Joined:
    Oct 26, 2003
    Messages:
    9,712
    Likes Received:
    202
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Brisbane, Australia
    Gallery:
    Ratings:
    +202 / 0
    My Photos Are NOT OK to Edit
    Hate to be the pedantic engineer here, but remote means exactly that. Not directly attached. Now whether the signal is sent via light, radio, microwave, or even sound, remote is still remote. Much like your infrared TV remote. ;)

    Not being able to shoot around corners makes it no less of a remote. :) (esp given the price of PWs :( )
  14. In2daBlue
    Offline

    In2daBlue New Member

    Joined:
    Oct 22, 2007
    Messages:
    101
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Gallery:
    Ratings:
    +0 / 0
    My Photos Are NOT OK to Edit
    Clarification taken. You're right. But, my point about PW (or some equivalent) being the only way to fire a strobe out of sight from the pop-up (wirelessly) is what I was trying to get at.
  15. jake337
    Offline

    jake337 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jun 3, 2010
    Messages:
    3,535
    Likes Received:
    680
    Trophy Points:
    113
    Location:
    minnesota
    Gallery:
    Ratings:
    +686 / 0
    My Photos Are OK to Edit

    Mirrors....

Share This Page

Search tags for this page
can d7000 trigger sb800 remote wirelessly
,
d90 wireless flash sb800
,
d90 wireless flash wirh sb800
,

does sb800 works as remote flash

,
fire sb 800 wireless
,
fire sb-800 wirlessly
,
how to get sb-800 to slave
,
how to remote trigger sb800
,
how to trigger a sb800 remotely
,
how to trigger my sb800 off camera
,
how to trigger sb800 remotely
,
how to use sb800 off camera with d700
,
remote trigger for sb 800
,
sb 800 how to wireless
,
sb 800 wirelews flash
,
sb-800 fla kablosuz kullanm
,

sb800 remote trigger

,
shooting in manual mode with sb800
,

using a remote trigger with d700 and sb800

,
using sb800 in manual mode