Getting pictures out of a laptop

Discussion in 'Beyond the Basics' started by nolegs, Nov 28, 2004.

  1. nolegs

    nolegs TPF Noob!

    Joined:
    Oct 4, 2004
    Messages:
    7
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Salmon Arm, BC
    My friend recently bought a new desktop PC and he wants to get 180 pictures out of his laptop (32 ram) and transfer them to his new desktop computer. His laptop is a Compaq Presario 1246 and the camera is a nikon Coolpix 3100. I asked him if he could do a reverse, download from his laptop to the camera and he says that there is no way to do that. Is there a way that he can connect his laptop to his new PC and download them into his desktop? The USB cable will connect to the computer at one end but the other end is for connecting to a printer or scanner or other hardware. He has a CD drive on the laptop but no burner, and it would take forever to download them onto a floppy. Even sending one photo out by email on his laptop makes it crash. Any suggestions?
     
  2. Patrick

    Patrick TPF Noob!

    Joined:
    Oct 2, 2003
    Messages:
    562
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Xenia, OH
    Can others edit my Photos:
    Photos NOT OK to edit
    Get a usb card reader and use it as a removeable drive. Which is how your computer will see it. :)

    do it all the time.
     
  3. Digital Matt

    Digital Matt alter ego: Analog Matt

    Joined:
    Jan 30, 2004
    Messages:
    5,346
    Likes Received:
    65
    Location:
    Santa Barbara, CA
    Can others edit my Photos:
    Photos NOT OK to edit
    Get a network hub and start a small lan. It will be much faster and easier.
     
  4. DocFrankenstein

    DocFrankenstein Clinically Insane?

    Joined:
    Apr 29, 2004
    Messages:
    1,646
    Likes Received:
    6
    Or you could network them...
     
  5. Patrick

    Patrick TPF Noob!

    Joined:
    Oct 2, 2003
    Messages:
    562
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Xenia, OH
    Can others edit my Photos:
    Photos NOT OK to edit
    oh and BTW...its a real bad idea to connect two computers by use of a standard usb cord.
     
  6. DocFrankenstein

    DocFrankenstein Clinically Insane?

    Joined:
    Apr 29, 2004
    Messages:
    1,646
    Likes Received:
    6
    uh... are there usb male to male cords?
     
  7. Chase

    Chase I am now benign! Staff Member Supporting Member

    Joined:
    Mar 9, 2003
    Messages:
    7,810
    Likes Received:
    51
    Location:
    Deep in the heart of Texas!
    Can others edit my Photos:
    Photos OK to edit
    There are special USB "cables" that are made for the purpose of creating a network-like connection, but if I remember right, they are fairly expensive.
     
  8. jadin

    jadin The Mad Hatter

    Joined:
    Feb 18, 2004
    Messages:
    1,740
    Likes Received:
    9
    Location:
    Down the Rabbit Hole.
    If your camera can plug into the computer you can use that as a storage device. Same with an mp3 player. A usb flash drive. And if it had been two computers (not a laptop) my personal favorite (read as : not recommended) pull the one hard drive out and put it in the other machine.
     
  9. Hertz van Rental

    Hertz van Rental TPF Noob!

    Joined:
    Nov 8, 2004
    Messages:
    16,728
    Likes Received:
    45
    Location:
    Where am I now?
    If you have Ethernet on the two computers you can connect them together directly with a cross-over ethernet lead.
    Or you could invest in an external USB CD burner, or an external USB hard drive.
     
  10. GerryDavid

    GerryDavid No longer a newbie, moving up!

    Joined:
    Sep 18, 2003
    Messages:
    1,221
    Likes Received:
    9
    Location:
    Virginia
    Can others edit my Photos:
    Photos NOT OK to edit
    I bought an ethernet cord many years ago to connect my notebook to my desktop, but I never got around to it because I need a network card for the desktop, I think I even bought one and never installed it. At the time it was my understanding that the windows 95 of the desktop and the windows me of the notebook wouldnt let me network them, but I could be wrong.

    Now I have a newer desktop *plus it actually works* and it has a network card installed. Its windows xp. So if I was to plug in the ethernet cord in my win me notebook to my win xp desktop, would the software of both machines automatically see each other and let me access the other via "my network places" or do I have to do some configurations? All the network stuff at my old job really confused me.
     
  11. jadin

    jadin The Mad Hatter

    Joined:
    Feb 18, 2004
    Messages:
    1,740
    Likes Received:
    9
    Location:
    Down the Rabbit Hole.
    You might have to do some configs. If you have the windows xp cd it's really really easy. just put the cd into the me computer and it will bring up a menu. one of the options is 'set this computer up for windows xp networking' or something like that.
     
  12. GerryDavid

    GerryDavid No longer a newbie, moving up!

    Joined:
    Sep 18, 2003
    Messages:
    1,221
    Likes Received:
    9
    Location:
    Virginia
    Can others edit my Photos:
    Photos NOT OK to edit
    Nope, no xp cd, I guess Future shop doesnt like giving them out. :0) Hmm, nor staples since my notebook didnt come with one either, just a restore cd.
     

Share This Page