Getting Published Etc.

Discussion in 'General Shop Talk' started by onedayillknowbetter, Mar 23, 2008.

1. onedayillknowbetter

onedayillknowbetter TPF Noob!

Can others edit my Photos:
    Photos NOT OK to edit
    So I would say that I am now a professional photographer. I have a website, www.carolinedixey.com (I'm still working on my bio and constantly adding old galleries) and I have business cards that match my website, and they look quite nice if I may say so. Now the only issue I am having is clients. I want to get into nightlife/party photography because I see that as an excellent way to get my name out there. Getting hired to take these images would be even better.
    I stopped going to school for photography for many reasons...but left in pursuit of self-education. I've learned a lot since then, but sometimes people just want to know that someone else has told me "good job!" before they do. I am interested in getting some of my images published because I think that this will add some credibility and maybe some jobs to my resume, but I'm not sure how to do this.

Any and all responses are appreciated!

2. SpeedTrap

SpeedTrap TPF Noob!

Photos NOT OK to edit
    First I want to say that I like the design of you website, it is clean and nice to look at.
    But having said that I think you need to do some serious work on your Portfolio. I do not want to sound like a jerk by saying this, but you picture come off as snapshots for the most part, there are several in your port that are out of focus and have blown out highlights and are not up to the standards that that would attract the kind of work you are looking for.
    If you want to shoot nightlife, you are going to have to show in your portfolio that you can shoot in that environment. I can see that you are a very creative person and with some work I think that you can do it. But I am not quite sure if you are ready yet.

3. onedayillknowbetter

Photos NOT OK to edit