Getting the most from a crummy 18-55mm f/3.5-5.6

launchcodemexico

TPF Noob!
Reaction score
Can others edit my Photos
Photos OK to edit
Hi, I'm looking to seriously develop my skills in photography, but I'm just a poor student at the moment who can only afford one set of lenses at a time. Right now, it's the $150 18-55mm zoom lens that I purchased along with my D90. I understand this is a very limited lens, but I don't believe I can't take good pictures with it, or learn alot from using it. I just need to know what types of "good pictures" are possible with the limitations I'm dealing with, so I know when to blame myself and not the lens.

I have read in some other places that the best way to start learning is with a Normal Lens. So I've been considering selling my zoom for Nikon's new 35mm f/1.8G lens. I've been hesitant though because it seems like all I'm getting out of buying this is:

- no zoom
- more convenience in low light situations (this can increase the opportunities for me to shoot, which can be helpful in learning)
- less zoom-distortion (I can easily set my zoom to 35mm. I'll just be paying for this quality here which shouldn't really concern me as a novice... I'm only assuming)
- are there any other crucial lessons I'd be learning that would justify this purchase?

The following flickr link shows some pictures I took at the snowboard park. There's a few pictures I really like in there (notably the guy in the blue shirt, and the frontal shot of the guy in the gray hoodie) which makes me feel I can do reasonably well on my cheap zoom, with a little bit of struggling: Flickr: herecomestherooster's Photostream

Comments/advice appreciated.