Getting the most out of a kit lens?

seananguswatson

TPF Noob!
Reaction score
Hi all,

In June I'll be taking a trip to Europe for 5 weeks and I'm trying to come out of it with quite a lot of photos. As of right now, it's looking like I'll be bringing only my Canon T3i and the kit EF 18-55mm. I may bring the 50mm 1.8 as well because it's so small and considerably sharper than the kit lens, but we'll see, space is limited.

What tips and tricks do any of you know about increasing picture quality using a relatively cheap lens? I understand that for the most part, quality of image is going to come down to my skill as a photographer, but I'm wondering if there's any tricks of the trade that I'm missing. I'm still relatively new to all this.

Make sure the rear element is clean, and free of smudges, built up film from cooking oil, smoke, or outgassing from foams, woods, leathers. The rear element is more critical than the front element, but make sure the front is grease-free, free of salt-spray, smoke, cooking oil, sweat, etc.

Focus for each shot, each frame. Do not focus, then hold one of the focus lock buttons, and shoot 3,4,5 frames; focus for each shot. These lenses are slow aperture, and short focal length, so the focusing brackets can cover a large area of the real world, and also the in-focus/out of focus information fed to the AF system is nowhere near as clear-cut as with say, a 300mm f/4 lens or a 135mm f/2 lens; with wide-angle settings, the central AF bracket on subjects that are 10,15,20 feet away can sometimes "overlap", and "catch the background", and cause back-focus. This is a potential problem with ANY short focal length lens, at certain distances, so focus carefully, for EACH shot!