GIMP

monkeykoder

TPF Noob!
Reaction score
Can others edit my Photos
Photos OK to edit
Does anyone here use GIMP and if so how do they think it compares to Photoshop and is there a suggested tutorial for GIMP out there?

Thanks a ton. Why is it that I don't hear anyone talk about gimp on here?

Becuase everyone here has way too much money. I don't know myself why photoshop is the first recommended program when someone asks. GIMP is no where near as powerful and won't handle RAW files, but it is free, and you don't need to sell your camera and all of the camera gear to be able to afford it.

Well, as far as Photoshop vs CaptureNX, I used to be a very pro NX user, but as soon as I saw the difference in quality that I was getting with CS3 over NX, I can tell you that the main reason is that I personally was getting better results with CS3.

As far as CS3 vs Gimp, I tried looking into it before I purchased CS3 and either I was lost or I found it was more for a Linux than Windows platform (could not find the windows installer, links were all down).

As mentioned, it also sure does a LOT more than any other program out there. If you learn how to use it, there is not much you cannot do.

Besides... CS3 cost me $195Cdn ($5 for a CS2 CD found at a garage sale and $199US for the online upgrade). Thats about as cheap as it gets!

Thanks a ton. Why is it that I don't hear anyone talk about gimp on here?

For me there are 2 reasons.

1. I have a mac and to use gimp you need to run X11.(If you run windows or linux you won't have this problem.) Which isn't a real pain but it does have some funny quarks. Like each tool bar is considered it's own window. If you minimize the program and send it to the dock you need to grab all three tool bars to have them open. I know not a big deal but a pain when you have a bunch of windows open and are cycling through things.