Give me your opinion

furion23

TPF Noob!
Reaction score
Can others edit my Photos
Photos OK to edit
Hello,

I want some opinions regarding my photos, i am a beginner in photography, and in need of some honest opinions coming from someone who has been in this field of work longer than me.
I found out that the type of photography i enjoy is close up/macro photography
The camera i am using is a fujifilm s5700, mostly i'm using it on the preset modes, rather than the Manual mode.

So, here are my pics:

Bee

25zp0rr.jpg

Butterfly

2zxp1qo.jpg

Pollen

335gxs0.jpg

I want an opinion on the photos, critiques are also welcome, so are other tips for improving my skills.

Thanks

Last edited:
Bee Photo: been done to death (search for bee, flower in Flickr), but yours is fine, too. Good dark green blurry background. Think about composition. You did not center the daisy, which is a good thing generally. It could be jogged a bit more away from the center, but I would put the extra space on the left side rather than the right (has something to do with the anticipated movement of the bee toward the left because of its position - giving more room on the left side allows the brain to accept the framing as genuine and natural). Had the daisy been completely symmetrical and the bee been perfectly centered, then a centered and symmetrical composition would have been acceptable.

Butterfly Photo: Nice contrast beteen the stark white petals and the deep orange of the butterfly! On the improvement side, the subject matter is too centered and there seems to be a lot going on with various lines (stems, leaves) moving in various directions. There is a lot of space given to the background which is a bit disharmonious. There is a bit of a natural frame created by some of the stems, but still too much going on for my personal taste.