Glowing Trees

majgeek

TPF Noob!
Reaction score
I was on vacation in Romania a while back, and they have some beautiful old-growth trees there. I was walking up a trail and came upon a huge old tree that was just perfect, and the sun was to the left behind the tree shining through the leaves making them glow an emerald green. I have never been able to sucessfully capture "glowing" trees, and this time was no different. They always come out looking dull.

Anyone have pointers on how to capture that glow?

i'm a total newbie, haha i actually had a go of trying to get something like this, i just overexposed. I took about 30 shots of the tree, with different exposures because back then i didnt know what the diff was between trading a stop of aperature for a stop of shutter speed etc.

I'm not sure off the top of my head. It might help if you posted the pic so myself and others could take a look.

The contrast between the sky and the leaves/branches is far too high to successfully capture in one exposure. This seems an excellent candidate for the 'HDR' technique (High Dynamic Imaging): basically, you do separate exposures for the sky and for the leaves (tripod!), then merge/blend 'm in PP.

well, depending on the leaves it may not be outside the dynamic range. if your shooting film you could over expose a few stops and underdevelop %30-%40. and get more detail in the shadows (i think thats right) and for the glow you could print out of focus for a sec.

I'd agree overexposing with print (not slide) film is probably the easiest way to do it. If using a digital SLR then use RAW instead of jpeg.