Golf Club Head photography challenge (shiny, curved)

airban

TPF Noob!
Reaction score
Hello - my first post.

I am an amateur photographer facing the challenge of golf club product pictures. The satin finish heads (like Ping) are no problem, they are not very reflective. But when I have to photo a shiny, mirror finish head... it gives me fits. I use a light tent, but getting the camera reflection out of the club head picture is impossible.

Any tips on settings, or technique to battle this?

Here is one that I’ve done taken with a Fuji E550 (not very good, is it?)

IntegraDisukabaDriver.jpg

And here is one of the same product that I am impressed with. I realize there are shadows there, but that’s unavoidable in this case, is that correct? I just think this looks sharp. What are they doing right that I am not?

[FONT=&quot]
integradisukaba_bottom_large.jpg
[/FONT]

use a loger lens so you are further away from the head when shooting the picture. that should help get you out of the reflection.
try a flash diffuser also. (im guessing thats what a light tent is?)

My other hobby is collecting marbles, so I run into a similar problem. (i.e. sphereical surfaces that reflect). I use a longer lens and get further away. I also have experiment with a circular polarizer, not sure if that would help in your situation or not, but may be worth a try. Fiddle with light placement and diffusing as well.

Derrick