gonna shoot at an abonded building

molsen

TPF Noob!
Reaction score
Can others edit my Photos
Photos OK to edit
I'm going to an abandoned building downtown with a couple other people to shoot some photos. Any tips? I've never done this before but I'm assuming there won't be anything crazy (photography-wise) I'm not prepared for. I fully expect insane homeless people and masked murderers, however.

There may be some homeless people because that's where some of them seek shelter. But I'm sure you'll be fine.

Expect most abandoned buildings to be a homeless shelter. Also, there is a good chance you'll see some meth, crack, pcp, angel dust, pot, ecstasy, and a number of other drugs. I would never go alone, thank God you're brining people with you. You never know what can happen in that sort of environment (drugs, alcohol, depression, mental illness, all these mixed together are very dangerous).

A tripod is almost mandatory. Very good chance there is no light so bring your flashes & strobes!

......And, watch out for pigeon $hit and floors too weak to hold a person. I was grabbed by the arm by another person before I about stepped on a rotten wood floor you could see through. I would have fallen 20+ feet to the concrete floor below :confused:.

I've been through about 40 abandoned buildings so far and not once have I come across a homeless person or any drugs and this includes an old train tunnel running under the city of which I've heard homeless use to get around. I have been scared out of my mind by some strange stuff and wishing I brought a weapon, but I'm still here & unharmed :thumbup: so just be careful & use common sense.

You should try this place.. All about Urban Exploration.. www.28dayslater.co.uk
General rule of thumb, never use the flash unless really nessicary, photos looks better without using longer shutters and natural light.... yes common sense i know.