good camera.

MrsTaylor

TPF Noob!
Reaction score
Okay so I am new at all of this. really new. lol. Actually I havnt even started..and this question has prolly be asked multiple times so I apologize up front. I am wanting to start classes in the fall but I want to get a camera now, and I am just really wanting to know whats a good camera for a beginner?

thanks a lot.

Welcome

The Canon Digital Rebel XTi is a good beginner camera. You could also look at the Nikon D40x and D80

As you've already guessed, we can spend a lot of your money! What are you looking to spend and of what would you like to take photos? Also how much of your time are you willing to spend on photography? This last is often overlooked but is extremely important to which camera is best suited to you.

mike

A Nikon FM2, Pentax K1000, Canon AE-1, Minolta XD-7, Olympus OM2, or a Praktica, Yashica, Fujica, Chinon, Cosina or Vivitar... in other words a manual-focus, manual exposure 35mm film SLR.

Or a Nikon F80, Canon EOS 300, Pentax MZ-5, Minolta Dynax... a modern autofocus, multi-mode 35mm film SLR.

Or a thousand-dollar Leica or twenty-dollar Zorki... a 35mm film rangefinder.

Or a Nikon D50, Canon Rebel XT, Pentax K100D, Sony A100, Olympus E-400... An 'entry-level' digital SLR.

Or a Nikon D2x, a Canon 1Ds Mk II... a professional-grade digital SLR, if you have the money...

Or a Panasonic FZ-20, Sony R1, Canon S3 or G6... a quality fixed-lens digital compact camera with manual exposure controls.