Good lens or not?

Coralguy

TPF Noob!
Reaction score
I'm looking at getting a new lens. A lot of my photo's are "far away" and I want a good zoom. The problem is low light.... I have been looking at several different ones and can't really make up my mind. The most important factor is the low light problem. Too far for a flash. The one I am looking at now is a D type Nikon f2.8.
Since I am very new to this whole photography thing, is it the f value on whether or not the lens is any good in low light right? The smaller the number the better if I read it correctely. And will a D lens work on a Nikon D1X? I don't have all the particulars on the lens on hand, I could find them if needed. I know it is ???-300mm with a tripod mount, hood, blah blah. Manual and auto focus it says.

Any suggestions?

Coralguy

All Nikon lenses will work on Nikon digital cameras, the question is and probably what you're asking is to what degree.

On that end, I'm not totally sure. Nikon's website goes over that stuff, as does the manual that came with your camera.

Ok, found the specs. Please let me know what to expect out of this lens.
[FONT=Arial, Helvetica, sans-serif][/FONT][FONT=Arial, Helvetica, sans-serif][/FONT][FONT=Arial, Helvetica, sans-serif][/FONT][FONT=Arial, Helvetica, sans-serif][/FONT]