good studio setup

MarkXS

TPF Noob!
Reaction score
Can others edit my Photos
Photos OK to edit
ok so im looking to get into some portrait and product photography and i decided im going to invest in a nice lighting setup. how much is it going to run me and what do i need for a decent setup?

anyone? i was kind of looking at the alienbees beginner package or the MPEX one.

what information did you find by searching this site?

p!nK

well alot of it confused me. im new to the off-camera flashes and stuff like that. i kinda figured from research i would need some stands, strobes, umbrellas, softboxes,etc.

"good studio setup"

A good studio setup for portaiture and product photography will run you about $20,000.

What's your budget?

ok let me rephrase my question. im 15 and on a major budget. im not looking to spend more than 600. what would i need for this?

Start here: Choosing the Right Studio Strobe StudioLighting.net

Also go to a the library and check out some books on studio lighting. Get a feel for what looks you are trying to accomplish, the methods it takes and the equipment needed to accomplish it. Then you will be able to research the different brands of gear you need and pick what works for you and your budget.

I bought second hand strobes for $100 two flashes at 200w each with stand and umbrellas, a backdrop stand on ebay and a paper roll from my local photographic store, this all cost me no more than $600, but I got lucky on the strobes their rrp in $1200, just check ebay every week that's what I did and got very lucky

For a low budget of $600 tops, eBay and second hand Speedotron equipment is a good bet. You could easily buy a pretty decent amount of equipment for $600 or less.

I'm right there with you on wanting strobist equipment on a budget (I'm unemployed lol), so I've been doing some research. Here's what I came up with:

Flash(es):
Vivitar 285HV $89.95 each (I want 2) fully manual flash, no P-TTL, no fancy stuff, just light on demand.