Good things about the Canon EF 28-135

Discussion in 'Photography Equipment & Products' started by CharlesFBI, May 25, 2009.

1. CharlesFBI

CharlesFBI TPF Noob!

Can others edit my Photos:
    Photos OK to edit
    Hi,

this is my first post here, just joined the forum! Yay :)

That said, I'm a beginner and have been trying to learn a lot on my own recently. I've had my camera, the Canon EOS 1000D/Rebel XS for maybe a little over 6 months, and haven't really gotten into photography until just a couple weeks ago.

I managed to find a used Canon EF 28-135 IS USM lens recently for about 140 dollars (I live in Finland, it was about 100 euros). From what I found I thought it was a good walk around lens, as that's what I wanted, a lens that I could keep on all the time and not have to change lenses. I was on a quite tight budget and didn't want to use the 420 dollars on a 55-250 lens a co-worker who's a good photographer suggested. I wanted a cheaper lens to start out with and see if my interest in photography will stick.

Now that I've used the lens a bit and read more about it, I realize it might not be the perfect walk around lens since I have a 1000D with a 1.6x crop factor. And there are some other issues. BUT:

I now want to forget about the shortcomings and focus on what I can do and what the good things about this lense are. I bought a ND + ND grad filter and a polarizer too. Now, I'm GOING to get some great pictures with this lens! :D I'd appreciate it though if I could get some tips on what this lens is good for and what things I shouldn't even really consider (things that REALLY can't be done with it). Thanks ! :)

2. Montana

Montana TPF Noob!

Photos NOT OK to edit