goodbye nikon

jamiebonline

TPF Noob!
Reaction score
Can others edit my Photos
Photos OK to edit
Hi everyone,

So I am selling my Nikon gear and getting into Sony mirrorless. The reason is a mixture of price, size (I have back issues for one and the idea of having a good carry-around camera with me all the time seems ideal)... and also a general interest in the technology offered by Sony.

I have a Sony A6000 and a Sigma 19mm 2.8

I am selling a D7000, a Sigma 17-50 2.8 OS and the Nikon 85 1.8

I know that I could buy an adapter so that the Nikon lens would work on the Sony but I just feel more like changing the whole system.
My question: what should I buy from the sale of the two lenses and the D7000. I expect to get about 1,000 dollars for everything.

I am very tempted to buy a Sony A7 because I rarely come this close to a full frame camera financially. A couple of hundred more would get me it.

I have made some money from my pictures already. I suppose I am a hobbyist with some remuneration which I'd like to build on. Mainly shooting couples portraits and events. I realise a 19mm lens with two bodies is kind of silly but lenses are not expensive in comparison. I can buy a Sigma 60 2.8, for example, for only 200 next month. I am quite interested too in wide angle portraits. Kind of 'landscape portraits' so I see the 19mm as being quite useful for a wide dramatic look.

My other thought is to buy the Vario Tessar 16-70 F4 which is around 1,000 so all my money would go on that. It would be a pretty great lens for the A6000.

Your thoughts please. :)

J

Hmm...Well, I'll be watching the classifieds section for that 85mm/1.8. :)

I'd go for another lens if it was me, but it really just all depends on what you shoot and what your needs are. I guess maybe step back and ask yourself what you LACK the ability to do with the A6000 and 19mm lens. That may help you decide what should be priority for the next purchase.