Graduated Filters

Discussion in 'Beyond the Basics' started by JSD, Jan 11, 2010.

1. JSD

JSD TPF Noob!

Can others edit my Photos:
    Photos NOT OK to edit
    I would appreciate hearing about any or all pros and cons in regards to using a graduated filter on camera, versus using the tool in Photoshop, or as in my case, Lightroom.
    I am thinking doing it in Lightroom means one less thing to tote around, and one less layer of potentially dirty glass in front of my lens. What might other issues be?
    Thanks, JSD

2. c.cloudwalker

c.cloudwalker TPF Noob!

Photos NOT OK to edit
  3. icassell

icassell TPF Noob!

Photos NOT OK to edit
    I am no LR expert so this may be my problem, but I have found it much easier to get the graduated effect I need from using a filter than trying it in software.

4. CraniumDesigns

CraniumDesigns TPF Noob!

Photos OK to edit
  5. c.cloudwalker

c.cloudwalker TPF Noob!

Photos NOT OK to edit
  6. Garbz

Garbz No longer a newbie, moving up!

Photos NOT OK to edit
    What you are talking about is no real substitute. In Lightroom when you apply this tool to darken the sky or increase the foreground you are doing just that, lightening or darkening part of an image with a pre-defined dynamic range. It won't allow you to recover a blown out sky or black foreground, which is exactly what this type of technique aims at providing.

The filter on the other hand has the effect of compressing the dynamic range of the light itself and allowing your camera to achieve it's full dynamic range potential, darkening the bright sky and often providing more detail in the process.

The digital substitute for this would be as described in the other thread, taking 2 images with different brightness's and blending them together using a gradient map. The obvious downside to this is the effort, and the fact that it doesn't work on moving subjects.

7. Big Mike

Big Mike I am Big, I am Mike Staff Member Supporting Member

Photos NOT OK to edit