Grains in night shot - Olympus 565UZ

jshanki

TPF Noob!
Reaction score
Can others edit my Photos
Photos NOT OK to edit
Hi,

I am a beginner and have Olympus 565UZ. Whenever I take night shots I get lot of grains. Can anyone tell me how to take good shots without any grains?

Photo Sample:
PA170137 on Flickr - Photo Sharing!

Thanks
Shankar

Unfortunately, that's a function of the camera shooting at a very high ISO. Do you have it on night mode? Try it in one of the other modes, but rest it on something or use a tripod.

Hard to tell without the exif data on that picture... but if I were to make a guess, it's the ISO being too high. The higher the ISO, the higher the sensitivity to light... with a corresponding increase in the graininess or noise. In a shot like that with no moving objects, experiment with a lower ISO and a longer shutter opening. Opening the aperture can help, but you have less of the picture in focus.

So, set up a tripod, open the shutter longer and use a lower ISO and see what happens.

I tried with lower ISO also - even in bright light I get grains in the skin

Sample: PA170030 on Flickr - Photo Sharing!

Any ideas - this happens only in low light (dim light) only. If I focus properly & on a bright light - I dont have a problem at all.

Thanks
Shankar

Thanks for your replies.

Here is an image which I took and was able to upload without any resize. The shot was taken in Firework mode. I did not change any other setting. (ISO 100, Shutter speed 1/20, F2.8)

http://img10.imageshack.us/img10/5349/pa170086.jpg

Please check the gate and the small plans behind the fireworks. Is this normal in any digital camera or am I doing any mistake?

Thanks
Shankar

It's not your technique, it's fine. It's because you're using a point and shoot.