Grainy Images with Canon EOS Rebel T2i DSLR

311Photo

TPF Noob!
Reaction score
Can others edit my Photos
Photos OK to edit
Help!
I'm getting grainy images, especially with indoor shoots, on my Canon. I've read that high ISO and poor lighting (which I definitely often have with no off-camera lighting at the time) can contribute to "graininess" but what concerns me, which I've also read, is that it could just be time to upgrade. I know this is an old model camera (2010 maybe?) so could it be that the image quality expected today exceeds my camera's ability? Or will I still be able to get good images with the proper settings? I'm rather new to the technical side of photography and to shooting in manual mode, so it's entirely possible that I just have the wrong settings.

worthless27.jpg

Post a couple of examples with the Exif Data. Could be many things.

Ha, sorry! Didn't even think about that.

Let me know if I've given you all of the information you need. Not entirely sure what all "exif" refers to.

311_007 bw.jpg

F-stop: f/4
Exposure time: 1/400 sec
ISO speed: ISO-6400
Focal length: 55mm
Max aperture: 4

311_005.jpg

311_004 bw.jpg

311_025.jpg

And seeing now that all are shot at ISO 6400, I may have just answered my own question....
If that is the case, is there a way you can edit this out in Lightroom or Photoshop? And how do you shoot in less-than-ideal lighting without going so far up on ISO that you lose image quality?

Attachments

• 311_025 bw.jpg
    311_025 bw.jpg
    608.3 KB · Views: 258
Help!