Grainy Photos - Need advice

MarkH

TPF Noob!
Reaction score
Can others edit my Photos
Photos OK to edit
Hiya all i'm new to photography and new to these forums so I'm hoping you guys can help me.

I recently went on a trip to London and noticed when back home a lot of my photos are rather grainy. I have attached links below to show you a sample of what I mean. The photos were taken on my Canon 450D with the standard Lens Kit. As I say I am new to photography the most I have used in the past is a compact camera on Automatic with this I did a little reading set the camera on RAW and used the Live View to help me choose the right settings.

Anyway here are a couple of images if you could take a look and advise me why they appear so grainy id be greatful. I know having a high ISO can cause Noise so I made sure this was low (100-200) in the light pictures.

(Sorry the images are around 10mb each so you can see the grain)

http://cloudbite.co.uk/photos/image1.jpg
http://cloudbite.co.uk/photos/image2.jpg
http://cloudbite.co.uk/photos/image3.jpg

Cheers,
Mark

I only looked at the first pic, but the ISO is 800, not 100-200. Were you shooting in Auto? If so, no matter where you set the ISO in the menu, the camera will still set it where it chooses. The only way you have control is in the semi-auto modes.

and used the Live View to help me choose the right settings.
Cheers,
Mark

So you look at the screen and if it looks like the right exposure, you shoot? Are you sure it didnt change the ISO?

In digital images it's called 'noise' instead of grain.

The last photo also list it at ISO 800, so it looks like it was user error.

Plus being it's a scene having a significant amount of direct sunlight, the 1/800 shutter speed at an f/10 aperture should have been a clue you weren't at ISO 100 or 200, which would have resulted in a shutter speed 2 or 3 stops slower.