Granite slab photography

emppire1

TPF Noob!
Reaction score
Can others edit my Photos
Photos OK to edit
Hey everyone

Im currently in the process of launching an online showroom for natural and man made stone slabs. Ive been trying to find a convenient way to photograph the slabs for my inventory. There are over 60 slabs and some of them are very polished and reflect all the light in the warehouse. There are skylights and windows everywhere. Im looking for some advice on how to photograph these slabs without seeing the reflections in the photo. Im kinda new to product photography and any advice would be much appreciated. I am working with a nikon d5300 dslr camera and i have some studio lighting. I have a 120 watt external flash and a 40 watt continuous light. I was thinking to create a black canopy and cover the slabs to block the light but that didn't seem to work.

A polarizing filter (CPL) will reduce reflections on a non-metallic surface.

This could be a challenge. If I were doing this, I would probably plan on doing it at night (when the ambient light is 100% controllable) and to use cross-polarized light. You may need to add a a little to your lighting stable.

It might be easier and cheaper just hiring a professional photographer for your project than buying the lighting equipment and spending hours figuring out how to light your company's inventory. I've done this work before and purchasing a polarizing filter is not going to solve your problems if you don't understand how to light certain material surfaces.

I can work on my car but I'm not going to go out and buy all the equipment just to adjust the timing.

I would approach it a different way.
There are lots of free stone textures that can be used to create photo realistic renders in many 3D editing packages.