Greetings from a SLR NOOB!

BuZzZeRkEr

TPF Noob!
Reaction score
Can others edit my Photos
Photos NOT OK to edit
Greetings! I just wanted to formally say Hi to everyone and that I'm brand spanking new to the SLR world. I just purchased my first DSLR Nikon D40X the day before thanks giving. I'm still very new to all these camera functions like ISO, aperture, exposure, shutter speed, flash settings etc.etc.. I'm sure I'll have alot of questions and pictures to post.
I thought I'd share my first picture ever taken with my D40x. This shot was on thanksgiving day of my wife and son. I think it turned out fantastic, but then again I am a noob. Any opinions? What would you have done? Its ok to be brutal, I'm not sensitive and I understand your just trying to help. Thanks in advance!

LoganTGMomSit.jpg

First welcome to TPF. Nice to have a fellow Virginian here.

This is a pretty nice capture just shooting right out of the box. The main thing that jumps out at me is the crop/composition here. It's a little unbalanced. You don't want everything dead center, but at the same time, your wife is being cut off while your son has some nice breathing room. Beyond that, portraits look nice with a shallower depth of field (using an aperture with a lower number). It makes the background more blurred while leaving the main subject in focus.

Again, not too shabby right out of the box.

You will want to post pics in one of the gallery sections though as this section is primarily for questions.

First welcome to TPF. Nice to have a fellow Virginian here.