Greetings to all

korni

TPF Noob!
Reaction score
Can others edit my Photos
Photos OK to edit
Hello to everyone and happy new year! :)

I'm almost as new to photography as I am to to this forum. Recently bought an entry-level DSLR camera and I am looking to learn how to capture "what I see" in a photograph.

My camera is a Nikon D3400 with kit lens, plus an additional Nikkor 35mm f/1.8G lens to get that bigger aperture.

At the moment I don't have a set interest in a specific type of photography. I like to shoot landscapes and some family photos for my own archive, but also try to convey a message through other stills (hence the quotes in "what I see").

I'm an engineer by trade, so understanding some basics like numbers, exposure histogram etc and their supposed effect seemed straight forward to me, but mastering those and capturing the output I want will be a completely different story.

What I'm looking for from this forum is to learn three things:
a) General concepts of photography and how to improve
b) How to use my gear best
c) How to post-process my raws to rescue that one dark photo or to make "the message" more clear

I generally believe that we are the biggest variable in this equation, so prefer to grind myself learning before spending on gear.

Finally, I'd love to get comments on any photos I might post in the gallery in the future. I'm the kind of person that much prefers take criticism over a "stale motivational message".

Welcome to the forum

Hi Korni!

If you are looking for tips then here are a couple people I recommend to learn from. Generally speaking, I look for non-cocky, true photography experts...not gearheads or those who want to make fun of others to show how awesome they are in comparison.