Grey Heron

Anubis

TPF Noob!
Reaction score
Website
www.bryanmansell.co.uk
grey_heron_mansell2008.jpg

Hi,

I took this shot of a Grey Heron on Monday.

Nikon D70s, hand held Sigma 500mm, ISO200. I tweaked the exposure down when converting from RAW as there where a few highlights, now I think I've darkened it down too much though.

C&C welcome and thanks for looking!

To me is doesn't look like there is enough sharpness in the face/eyes/head of this shot... but could be my monitor or the compression...

First of all...Nice shot. Most people don't have a clue what it takes to get a shot like this. There is no luxary of time, most of the time handheld or a monopod is the only way to get the capture. A lot of things have to fall in place to get a shot like this.

Okay on to the critique. Like Garbz said it is oversharpened ( I am often a victum of this myself if I don't back away during editing)
I am still learning but i think if you devise a good workflow your PP will benifit.

Start with cropping first. then do levels this will bring dark underexposed photos right up there. The I like to go to saturation and boost it a bit. I tweak the hue abit but very rarely. The last thing I do is go to unsharp mask. By now I rally have to back away a bit because I have been looking at this photo for quite a bit and have a tendency to push it to much.
Hope I helped.

grey_heron_mansell2008.jpg

Hi,

I took this shot of a Grey Heron on Monday.

Nikon D70s, hand held Sigma 500mm, ISO200. I tweaked the exposure down when converting from RAW as there where a few highlights, now I think I've darkened it down too much though.

C&C welcome and thanks for looking!
I took your photo and had a go with editing it and hers what I ended up with for a quick edit
grey_heron_mansell2008copy.jpg

That is definitely brighter, which was truer to the day I was shooting, but it looks over saturated to me. I see where you are going through :)