Grrr...photography is so expensive!

Discussion in 'Photographic Discussions' started by keller, Feb 5, 2006.

1. keller

keller TPF Noob!

Being a university student, I'm really finding it hard to cope with the costs of photography. And I've only just started!

I chose film because I like the print/enlargement quality (and I cant afford digital SLRs). However, processing has become quite expensive. Cheapest I could find is $10 for a roll 24, with a 20% discount for 20 rolls.

Lens also seems to be a killer, most go for over $500 used. I'm lucky I got a free zoom lens with my camera.

I'd hate to think of the consequences of dropping my camera... :meh:

2. ShutteredEye

ShutteredEye TPF Noob!

Can others edit my Photos:
    Photos NOT OK to edit
    Some of my best images have been taken with a $200 tlr medium format camera, a $3 roll of film, and $4 processing.

It doesn't HAVE to be expensive. But it CAN be if you let it.

3. Alexandra

Alexandra TPF Noob!

I was once shooting in the subway and when the sub passed, i quickly imagine what would've happened if i dropped my camera. it was painful. very painful.

As for developping your pics, i figured that having your own darkroom is much more comfortable in the long run... i had set up one *cough*for two weeks*cough* but i got rid of it quickly cause i had no time and cause i screwed up everything possibly screwable.
    But that's fine, i learned th basics and i'm considering setting it back this spring :D
    And really, i don't trust the local lab. right now i mostly shoot digital, so i don't really print pics often. but when i need to, i rather go to a really professional lab. that's waaaaaay too expensive for doing it often, but once a while and when i need good results it's pretty worth it.
    But still, i'm very impatient to set my own darkroom back.

4. keller

keller TPF Noob!