Have Nikon lenses, but what camera?!

katielee

TPF Noob!
Reaction score
So I'll admit I'm pretty new to the whole Digital SLR camera scene, but I've been looking into getting one for a while to pursue my interest in photography. I currently have a variety of Nikon Series E lenses and filters (found in my dad's attic) that I was hoping I could find a camera they would be compatible to.
Originally I was looking into purchasing a Canon EOS Rebel T1i or XSi, although I'm not sure if there was any way either of these cameras could work with my current lenses.
I'm open to other ideas about a camera to purchase, but I prefer one where I can use the existing lenses. I've been told that Sony cameras are adaptable to most lenses since like the 1980's or somewhere along that date, but I'm not 100% sure.

Either way, any information or advice you guys have towards purchasing a camera compatible to these (and hopefully one that isn't too expensive, preferable 900 and under) lenses would be amazing!

Thanks!
Katie :)

No, Sony or Minolta A-mount autofocus d-slr's are NOT very adaptable to lenses from other brands. A Canon Rebel can easily use Nikon Series E lenses with F-to-EF lens adapters that sell on e-Bay for about $17 each. The catch? You will have to manually focus,and you will have to stop the lens down to shooting aperture. Your light metering will be only semi-automatic using a Canon body as well. I have a lot of adapters, and Canon dslr's are "the" d-slr brand when you wish to adapt Nikon or Pentax lenses with simple, glassless adapter rings. The camera brand that can easily work with lenses dating to the 1980's is--wait for it--Nikon.

Canon d-slr's DO work reasonably well with adapters,with Nikon and Pentax thread mount (M42 mount) lenses, but unless you're an experienced photographer, some of the hassles of using adapted lenses on a Canon dslr body will make shooting a difficult, and sometimes accident-prone affair.