Having your own website when not a pro?

ted_smith

TPF Noob!
Reaction score
Can others edit my Photos
Photos NOT OK to edit
I am curious as to what people's views are about creating your own website for showcasing your work when you are not a professional.

I have built a few non-proft\charity based sites using the open-source system Xoops (xoops.org) such as f3.org.uk and lost-doggies.com. But I've also seen Gallery2 which I've noticed a few photographers (pro and amateaur) have used to showcase their work.

In addition, my chosen domain name (myname-photography.com) is currently available, unlike the domain name for my actual name which was taken years ago.

But I have to wonder, if I am not a pro is there any point? I have my online Flickr account (flickr.com/photos/ted_smith) and as a result I don't have to worry about maintenance etc. But I do like the idea of having my very own online showcase etc.

What are people's views?

Thanks

Ted

Being not a pro, I still have my own site (and had for over 5 years). And a second site is in preparation (just in my brain at the moment though ;)).

So my answer is clearly, if you like having a site, go for it!

I think it is fun to share your images independently of other people's sites or commercial sites like flickr. Also I enjoy getting random feedback from people who see my images and send emails saying that they enjoyed a particular image or hated it.

It is like having your own small exhibition on the web with random visitors which find you via google.

Also by having a webpage I got some images published and used for non commercial webpages which is nice for me.

I use a Fotki gallery which is aliased to a my own domain. Fotki allows you to rewrite the interface with html and do nearly anything you may want with it. Other sharing sites may do this as well, I don't know.