HDR Advice

Discussion in 'HDR Discussions' started by Shane79, Sep 22, 2009.

1. Shane79

Shane79 TPF Noob!

Can others edit my Photos:
    Photos OK to edit
    I am new to HDR and have been getting a lot of good feedback from the users at Photography - PopPhoto.com Offers Camera Reviews and Exclusive Photo Tips. Unfortunately I am running out of time before I go on my big vacation and want to learn as much as possible before I leave.

These are examples of my first and only HDR photo's to date. Please let me know what you think I can or should do differently to improve those photo's. Also, I am posting a link to the original RAW files for one of these pictures if you are able to show me what you can do better. Whatever you provide will be appreciated.

[​IMG]

[​IMG]

[​IMG]

[​IMG]

The original RAW files can be downloaded HERE (46MB)

2. robertwsimpson

robertwsimpson No longer a newbie, moving up!

Photos NOT OK to edit
    it might just be me, but none of these pictures look like they require HDR. Unless you are going for the "HDR look," I'd suggest just getting 1 properly exposed picture and then dodging and burning areas you want to emphasize or deemphasize. Just my 2 cents.

3. Shane79

Shane79 TPF Noob!

Photos OK to edit
    I am not that advanced. HDR is really the first different technique I've tried.

So I guess in response to your comment, what type of photo's would require HDR? Any possibility of showing me what a burn and dodge photo would look like? Maybe even a tutorial on how to do that?

4. robertwsimpson

Photos NOT OK to edit
    You can find youtube tutorials on everything you can imagine.

HDR is most useful when you are taking pictures where there are dark shadows and bright highlights... Personally, I like to make HDR photos that look as little like HDR as possible.

5. Shane79

Shane79 TPF Noob!

Photos OK to edit