Hello all...Newbie here!!!

carebearmom

TPF Noob!
Reaction score
Hello, I am new here and I have a few questions.

I love photography and was wanting to know how is the best way to start a home based Photography Business. I have taken pictures at a couple weddings and take plenty pictures of my children. I have had so many of my friends tell me that I should start my own photography business but I don't know where to start. :confused: Right now I am doing home childcare and I truely love it, but photography is my passion. :hugs:

Can you help me get in the right direction?

Thanks & God Bless

Laura:lovey:

Oh, Forgot to add.....Currently I have a Sony Mavica CD 250. It takes the mini discs and I really love it. But it only has 2 mega pixels.

What Digital Camera would you recommend to start out with?

First, welcome to the forum.
Secondly, as an owner of a micro buisness in photography, here are a few pointers: (Please do not be frightened or scared off by this list:)

1: Get as much education in both photography AND business as possible.
2: Learn to keep books on money and especially on the glorious politicians that steal the money from your earnings.
3: Although the enthusiasm for photography is undoubtedly there, I will STRONGLY advice that you get at least an entry level pro DSLR. Not really to slam your camera, but the reality is that the newest DSLRs are at 12 Mp now. In order to keep in buisness, you have to give the customer a competitive product at a good price. Hate to say it, but the disk camera really wont cut the mustard here.

You did ask what kind, here is the best answer I can give. Nikon D50 or D70 with a kit. Or a Canon setup, where you can get a good body such as a 10D or such.
4:Ancillary items: lenses, studio lights, First Class Tripod, camera bags, cleaning equipment, Photoshop, remote releases, batteries for anything and everything, a Wedding Wardrobe if that is something you wish to do, soft box, props if you wish to do portrait.