Hello from California!

EasternSierra

TPF Noob!
Reaction score
Website
www.kingofcolubrids.com
Can others edit my Photos
Photos NOT OK to edit
Hi, everyone. Newbie here, from CA. A little about myself...

Like lots of people, I got lucky enough to have a B&W photography course available in highschool back in 1988-89. I gained lots of darkroom experience and really enjoyed it tremendously.

Unfortunately, I was unable to continue shooting much after high school. But about 10 years ago, I found an old Olympus OM-10 available for a cheap price. Well...that's what I shot in high school, so I picked it up cheap, bought a bunch of film, and started shooting.

I missed developing my own B&W negatives and prints, and found myself shooting WAY too much film to be "fiscally responsible", so I bought a digital point and shoot. I loved it. Loved the ability to shoot a bazillion pics, and just delete what I didn't like. It was really cool.

But I missed "playing" with an SLR. I missed creating a photograph, instead of just snapping a picture.

So I took the plunge and bought myself an Olympus E-520, and a couple lenses. I'm really excited to get back into photography, and even though I just ordered my camera, and haven't even gotten it yet...I've been buying every magazine I can get my hands on, trying to "bone up" on what I learned some 20 years in high school.

So...being a bit of an internet junky...the next logical step is to join a forum, learn some "stuff", and share in this new world I expect to opening up to me.

I can't wait to talk shop and learn as much as I can from you folks!

But more than that...I can't wait to get my new camera and go out and take some pictures!!

Hello, and welcome to TPF!

(Scary avatar...friend of yours?)