Hello, I'm a newbie. Where do I begin?

Discussion in 'Photography Beginners' Forum' started by potato, Feb 29, 2008.

1. potato

potato TPF Noob!

Hi everyone!

I just registered here. I was not into photography at all, I don't think I'm particularly good at picture-taking department, and I don't own a decent camera. But I really want to be able to take good pictures.

So, where do I begin? I'd appreciate any help.

First, what kind of camera (digital) should I buy? I like Canon cameras and I can get a little discount on Canon products as well, so can anybody recommend me a camera, lenses, etc? Some people told me to get 30D, Rebel XSi, etc, but I don't know the difference.

Second, can somebody recommend me a good book or site for totally clueless person like me? I don't have much leisure time, so I'm first looking for some tutorial that's easy and light but that can get me started.

Any other tips, recommendations, etc will be great.

Thanks much.

2. Big Mike

Big Mike I am Big, I am Mike Staff Member Supporting Member

Can others edit my Photos:
    Photos NOT OK to edit
    Welcome aboard.

The book 'Understanding Exposure' by Brian Peterson gets a lot of great reviews.

Photography is an art...you don't necessarily need to understand all the technical aspects of it, to enjoy it or to be good at it. However, many of us enjoy the science and technical aspects of it just as much.

Maybe all you need to get started, is a camera. Just go out and shoot what ever you want. Sooner or later, you will start to figure out how to take photos that you like.

On the other hand, maybe it's better to get a good understanding of how photography works. Then you can better choose the equipment that will be best suited to you.