Hello, new guy here!

tripwater

TPF Noob!
Reaction score
Can others edit my Photos
Photos NOT OK to edit
I just came across this forum and I am a newbie. I will be taking full advantage of your knowledge, critiques, ideas and experiences with open arms.

For the past 2 months I have been reading book after book on exposure, composition, macro photography, hdr, lighting, researching online etc. Learning as much as I can.

I do not have a camera of my own yet. I have been using my roommate's Canon EOS 20D to test things out as I go. I have been struggling with what camera to get as I imagine so did everyone else here in the beginning. It has come down to the Canon EOS 50D or the Nikon D300s. After all my research, I have come to realize that most reviews and people's opinions are just that. A more of 'Tastes great, less filling' kind of thing. I pretty much have come to the conclusion that I can't go wrong with either. So I am now leaning more towards the Canon for 2 main reasons: 1.) My roommate and best friend of 20 yrs has a Canon and a handful of lenses, and other equipment so I can share and he can also use my stuff. 2.) With the cost difference of about $700 between the two camera bodies I figure it will allow me more money to put into the glass. Which over the past 2 months I have learned is really the most important part. I just ordered my tripod and head here is what I got

Manfrotto 055XPROB Pro Tripod - Black in Camera Tripods at JR.com

and
http://cgi.ebay.com/Bogen-3026%2fManfrotto-488RC2-Midi-Ball-Head-488-NEW!_W0QQitemZ300339704834QQcmdZViewItem

My main passion it seems so far in the beginning stages of this new adventure for me is Close up / macro photography. I am drawn to it. Which is why, after much research I chose that tripod and head. I like the idea of being able to mount the camera horizontally by pulling out the stem and putting in the side. I am looking to get my camera and start accumulating lenses as I am able within the next week.