hello newbie here

Dusmith1

TPF Noob!
Reaction score
Can others edit my Photos
Photos OK to edit
I am new to digital cameras .
I am wanting to shoot wildlife Eagles hawks.
I have a Canon T6I
2 lenses Both Image stabilizing
A EFS 18-55 macro 0.25m/0.8ft
A EFS 55-250 macro 0.85m/2.8ft
With what I have what am I missing to do this right? I would also like to shoot flowers and insects

Welcome to TPF.
I'll tell you the same thing I tell my friends......RUN! Run as far away as you can from wildlife photography. It will kill your wallet.

All kidding aside wildlife photography starts at 300mm and is still a difficult task somedays at 500mm. In the Canon line up the 400mm F5.6 is the best bang for the buck lens. Sharp and reasonably priced and that's hard to find in telephoto lenses.

That would be a great purchase at that price but you need to go in knowing what you're getting.

That is an auto focus designed in the 80's and has plastic focus gears that could and have stripped on people in the past. Add to this that older Sigma lenses are hit and mis wether they will work on a modern DSLR and Sigma no longer supports upgrades to this lens.
Having said all of that it is a good lens if it works. If you can afford to gamble or test one to make sure it works, go for it.

As an eBay Associate we earn from qualifying purchases.
Do you think I would be better off spending up to $300 for now since after spend what I have so far on everything I only have the $300 till the first of the year to spend on my hobby the rest needs to go to support my family.
So far I have the 2 lenses a boom Mic a travel lite tripod a second body that is a Rebel Xt with a 18-55 lens.
My wife is cool but has gave me a budget I can spend each year . I sometimes go a bit overboard off the bat lol

I would just go shoot with what you have.