Hello there!

Discussion in 'Photography Beginners' Forum' started by Dykstra, Apr 12, 2010.

1. Dykstra

Dykstra TPF Noob!

I wasn't sure where to post my introduction, but anyway, my name is John and I'm an 18-year-old amateur photographer. I haven't shot for long, but I've already fell in love with the hobby and am looking for a community to share my love with. ;) A community where I can give and receive critique, as well as share my personal opinions and philosophies on photography.

For example, just recently I've finally started looking at scenes that I want to photograph less in terms of the objects, and more in terms of the light on the objects. I realized that as a photographic artist, my medium is light. I manipulate light, I paint with light, I understand light. Most importantly, I understand that all it takes to make an outstanding photograph is the magical light which defines everything it rests upon. Light is how I see, and light is how I feel; it's alive, it's always changing, and it is ultimately what makes the subject as beautiful as it is. When I set out to photograph an inspiring landscape, it is my foremost intention to capture a lightscape. Light is passion, light is emotion, and light is information. With an earnest understanding and passion for light itself, you can make a field more impressive than a mountain. And this is my goal; to portray the beauty of our earth through the power of life-bringing light. This change in perspective has radically altered the way I go about taking a photograph.

OH, and I'm also in a high-school photography scholarship competition, and I'd like to ask you to view my submission and consider voting for me! If you don't believe I deserve it, then don't vote. Here's the link: Sigma - Scholarship contest :blushing: